For the Love of Dog

It makes you wonder what is going on in a puppy’s mind when it drags you around outside in -10C which translates to 14F, me freezing parts of my body off I did not know I had, her just content as could be, forgetting completely why we even considered coming out here… just digging her nose deep into the snow trying to sample as much as possible, until you decide becoming an ice sculpture is definitely not on my bucket list and  head back inside, her in tow following me reluctantly and with heavy resistance.

This is a game we have been playing for a while, her being a puppy, with a certain “accident” prone air to her, whining at the door every 15 minutes, me trying to figure out a healthy, clean-up free middle between giving in out of fear it might actually mean something and being aware she is just playing me, because it is pure and simple fun out in the snow. Short of putting me through a 10 minute dress up fit for the Colorado winter temperatures each and every time, I eventually give in 5 out of 7 times, throw on some boots and a sweater, just stand out there and shiver, mind going blank, trying not to feel my nose actually saying “So long, nice to have had the pleasure of your acquaintance”….. standing there, wind blowing hard (a feature that makes living in Colorado so desirable), to learn, once again I have been played by a dog.

You would not believe how long a 6 months old canine can hold it in, just to gamble on her owner going outside for the (fill in a number, I am sure it will be the right one, just make it a high one) time until it finally has to give. It is worth the effort, I guess for both of us. If it wouldn’t be such a treat to watch, I would have given up a long time ago, just putting some earplugs in, paper-towels and disinfectant on the table and once again enjoy MY life.

.

.

.
You ask, why not just leave her out there? Well, aside from the fact that for the past 13 years I was spoiled sharing my life with THE angel of a dog… big pause….I am simply new to these mind games and to the daily surprises of what can look remotely delicious to this orally fixated four-legged creature. I am thrown back in time to my daughter’s toddler years, when everything, I mean everything ended up in her mouth. Considering ending up with a dead dog, my luck that would be the most likely outcome, or sponsoring another addition to my vet’s mansion , I choose to suffer, silently.  I will not give up hope that temperatures will rise once again above freezing, that this snowscape will melt or that the time of maturity will one day soon be upon us.

dsc019591dsc01901

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mary Beth says:

    Thanks for the fun reading, Jutta! No doubt, your snow baby doesn’t realize that the two of you don’t share the same passion for the Colorado winter!

Leave a Reply

