Risotto

I love cooking, I love trying new recipes and I love entertaining. I think I am a decent cook, so when I ran across risotto my believes were shaken.

After quite a few attempts with multiple ingredients I was ready to give up. The question, unsolved so far was, is it that I just can’t make a decent risotto or do I just not like risotto? Find a restaurant in this town that actually serves it, out of luck, so I was stuck with cooking it myself.

So I tried risotto one more time, this time with chestnuts and butternut squash and a dash of saffron. I swore this would be my last time….

I had tried different wines, and no wine, I tried vegetable stock and chicken, I tried saffron, mushrooms, asparagus, parmesan as requested and parmesan on the side… it was just not my cup of tea.
My daughter hates it, but what can you expect from an eleven year old going onto 15, my husband and mom, who were test subjects as well, loved it, I, well you know….
The last and self proclaimed final attempt, with chestnuts and butternut squash proofed to be just the right mix. The consistency was fine, not too soft, not too hard, it actually is not too much work, like everyone wants you to believe, I surely cooked more time consuming and complicated dishes in the past, it just didn’t taste good to me in the past.
This time I used chicken stock instead of the too overpowering veggie stock I had used last time, I avoided adding the required amount of parmesan at the end and instead opted for serving it at the side to complement each person’s taste. The dish was nicely balanced, nutty in flavor and good seasoned. Do I want to add this to my list of favorites, no, but I know now that it is definitely a matter of taste not skill.
Well, I have to admit, I tend to be a little too perfectionistic, and this was like a splinter in my finger….

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sabine says:

    Now I’m hungry… Will you cook it for me and Christian?

    1. vespertineblue says:

      Sure, you just have to get here : )

Leave a Reply

