DIY Blending Board

The creative process of working with wool has send me in the direction of blending colors and material for spinning rather than just buying roving and spinning it.

One of the things to accomplish this with is a blending board, which you can find online anywhere between  $175 and $200.

This is a rather steep price for what looked to be a rather simple construction. After some research I found a supplier of blending board cloth on Etsy at NaturalFiberYarns (https://www.etsy.com/shop/naturalfiberyarns) and the adventure began..

Here is how I made mine.

You will need:

12 inch length of Blending Board Cloth (11 3/4 inches wide | 72 TPI) $59

A wooden Cutting Board (mine was “20.5x”14.5 with a groove) $17

Sanding Paper

Spray Glue Heavy Duty ($9)

Staples

The cloth comes cut a certain way which gives you a couple of rows of tines that are too close to the edge. In order to staple the cloth to the board you will need to remove a few rows, which is easily done with a screwdriver. Just flip it over and remove the tines by sliding the screwdriver under and slightly pulling them up and out. I had to do this on two sides.

I placed the cloth on the board to see how I want it oriented, make sure the tines face to the side of the board you want to be the top. I marked my location with a pencil so I didn’t have to guess and move the cloth around too much after I spray the glue. I wanted it to be even, but that is just the perfectionist in me.  When I laid out my cloth I left plenty of space on top (which is not really necessary, but the cheapest board I found had it available) and got pretty close to the bottom so the fiber can hang over a bit. The groove on the board was a bonus feature that comes in handy when placing the knitting needles to remove the fiber.

After marking, I sanded my board slightly to get a better adhesion, taped the rest of the board off to avoid getting glue all over and sprayed both cloth and board with glue.  Then placed it on my marked location, removed the tape and placed a couple of medium sized books as weight on my cloth overnight to aid adhesion. Make sure not to bend any tines during this process, if that happens use less weight.

The next day I stapled all sides to make sure the cloth stays put when the fiber is pulled.

After that you are ready to have fun with it.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Frances Radford says:

    Very interesting but I would like to see it before going for. Making it.
    THANKS FOR SHARING INFO,!!

  2. Anna says:

    What a great tutorial, and beautiful pictures!

Leave a Reply

